Sweet Dreams…

 

 

Footsteps….

Faint footsteps…

Growing louder with each step…

Coming up the stairs…

The same familiar footsteps I’ve heard every night for many years

Then I hear the door creak open, gently, and a ray of light shines into the room…

I hear movement

More footsteps…

Water rushing, the toilet flushing…

Things being moved around for a while…

Clothes being taken off, less clothes being worn

Pills popping…

And then finally, the moment comes…

I hear your footsteps coming towards me…

Feel you getting on top of the bed

And then… I feel your head rest on my body

It’s the most wonderful feeling in the world; this is the moment I live for…

My heart glows with a smile…

Like a proud parent on graduation day

But, like the setting sun, my smile starts to fade…slowly

I feel tears flowing down your cheeks like an endless stream

I hear you whisper your deepest secrets…

All your pains…

The betrayal from your closest friend…

The divorce…mum and dad, after 23 years of marriage, why?

More tears…

How could he cheat on me, He’d said he loved me, he’d promised never to hurt me…

The lies, the gossip, the rumours…All false!

The tears, warm, and uncontrollable…

More whispers, more pains, more secrets…and more tears…

From a beautiful face

The source: A kind, caring, loving, but broken heart…

I wish I could do more than just listen

I wish I could hold you, give you a warm, comforting hug…

Wishes…So powerful, yet so empty

I feel  helpless, I’d love to lighten your burdens

As you empty out your heart to me….

Pour out your thoughts

And slowly…

You drift off, into a slow, sedated sleep

Your head resting firmly on me, your most faithful companion

With whom your secrets are eternally safe….

I’m your most trusted friend…

It is I, your pillow

If I could only speak…my words to you would be few…

They would be…

Don’t worry, everything will be alright

Soon, you will have beauty, for ashes…

 

 

10 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams…

Leave a Reply

