PORCELAIN HEART

My back hurts

From all the bending down

But why is my back bent?

Because I cannot stand…To pick up the pieces…

Of my broken heart…

Scattered like porcelain all over the floor

Oh! Here’s one piece…and there’s another…

And another…

Each broken piece a memory…

Of sorrow, of pain…

Rejection, regrets, past mistakes…

More pieces…failed relationships, betrayals…

The more I bend, the more I try

But the more I pick, the more I cry…

I can’t go on…I’m too weary, too weak, too tired…

Someone help me…

I can hardly see…there’s so much darkness

I can’t let go of my past, too many nightmares…

There are too many pieces, some I may never find

The tears never stop flowing, I’m almost going blind…

I have no more strength, this picking seems to never end

What’s the point? After all they say…

That broken hearts never mend…

I wish life had one button, just one…

The one with REWIND…

I can feel a door…but I can’t find the handle…

The darkness of my past…

I wish I had a candle…

I finally find it…

I pull it hard…and then PUSH!!!

With my very last bit of strength…

My very last gasp of breath…

And then I see it!

The light! Shining so bright…

In front of me….

I feel so much peace!

The light, filling my soul with bliss…

Feels so much like a first kiss…

But how? How can I feel so much joy?

I thought I had a shattered heart…

I look down at the pieces in my hand….

And realize…

I have a new HEART…

6 thoughts on “PORCELAIN HEART

  1. Awwww….Adot! Dis is so sweet and touching! Alas! A broken heart can be made whole! Thx. It was a blessing

Leave a Reply

