LET’S GO HUNTING!

THIS WAS WAR!!!

I inhaled deeply…and then paused for the oxygen to take effect in my chest

Then I exhaled…

There!!!! I was ready…

Or so I thought…

Every nerve in my body was at full attention…

There was tension in the air…so thick a chainsaw wouldn’t slice through it!

Beads of sweat formed on my brow

I wiped them off with the back of my hand…

I was in a forest…a thick one at that

Overgrown trees…with branches shutting out the sunshine

I had to tread…and tread carefully…

Or it could be my first taste of defeat…and my last hunting experience

I shuddered at the thought…no way!

I was going to defeat him!

Who did he think he was?

He had shot my father

Then my mother…in short he’d shot my parents at the same time!

My two sisters

So many of my friends

He had even tried to shoot me too…once

But he had missed! Thank goodness!!!

Narrowly though…it had been a close shave…

My heart skipped a beat as the memories of that narrow escape crossed my mind…

I had to focus!

I wasn’t going to be his prey too!

I was a pro at handling a rifle…and that was an understatement

I had so many trophies in my cabinet…from all my years of hunting achievements

I was going to win…this battle! Or call it a war?

The thrill of victory…or the agony of defeat

I lived for thrills, not agony…

I kept moving slowly…crouching

Like a lioness waiting to pounce!

My opponent was a legend!

Known all over the world…

By men and women, boys and girls, old and young

Everyone talked about him…Everyone knew him

But today, I would defeat him…

I moved closer….hardly daring to breathe

I had to stay silent…stealth was my secret weapon

Suddenly… I heard movement!

My heart stopped! For a split second…

I crouched beside a rock…and raised my eyes…slowly, for a clear view of what lay ahead

I spotted him!

He was standing in the clear, between two trees, wide apart

He was caressing his bow, and whistling a tune…he had a pack of arrows slung on his back…

My heart began to beat faster, now was the time to strike! To take him down…One shot would do it!

I ran my hand over the smooth stock of my rifle…

I fingered the bolt, and then worked the controlled feed action and chambered a 270-grain…

I flicked off the safety pin…

I stood slowly…he hadn’t spotted me yet…

I placed my left index finger to the single stage trigger….

I took aim…I had him in my crosshairs

I tried to decide. Between a head shot or letting the bullet rip his chest apart!

I decided on a head shot…I wasn’t taking any chances

I was going to end this…here, and now!

I inhaled and exhaled…slowly

And then gently squeezed the trigger!

There was a deafening sound…and a little cloud of smoke

As the bullet departed for its target…

The smoke cleared…

I couldn’t believe my eyes…

I expected to see him lying dead, his brains in shreds from the impact of my bullet…

Rather he let out a laugh, shook his head…as if giving me sympathy

He removed an arrow from the pack on his back…And then raised his bow

He set the arrow firmly on the bow, raised it, and drew…

I wasn’t going to stand here and get shot with his arrow…

My palms were sweaty, but I managed to compose myself…

I was going to kill him first!

I raised my rifle and took aim…for his heart

He drew even further on his bow…But he didn’t seem in a hurry to shoot

I squeezed my trigger…again

Another deafening sound! A whiff of smoke…and then…SILENCE!

Surely I had hit him this time…

I was stunned! I could not believe my eyes…

I hadn’t missed a single target in over ten years!

But there he stood, alive! His arrow still drawn on his bow…in the same position!

So he hadn’t moved at all…so how did I miss?

He could see the confusion in my eyes…or was it fear?

Or a mixture of both…

It all happened so fast! Like the speed of light, or was it sound?

Whichever! I had always hated Physics in school

He let fly of the arrow…

I tried to move…dodge! Whatever…anything to get out of the way of that arrow

But it was too fast for me…It seemed to move even faster than my bullet

WHAM!!! The arrow slammed right into me!!!!

Straight into my heart!

The force of the impact and penetration raised me off my feet and flung me high in the air…

Backwards…a couple of feet away

I felt myself flying through the air…it felt like slow motion!

And then my back hit the ground with a heavy thud!!!

I was expecting to feel immeasurable pain flow through my body…

But rather I felt joy and relief

I was waiting for the cold hands of death to seize me…

But instead…I felt a new warmth of life gushing through me…

I had never felt this way before…

It was…the most wonderful feeling ever!

It felt so…so…amazing! I didn’t want it to end

What had that arrow done to me?

I tried to reach for the arrow, to pull it out…

But I couldn’t feel anything…

Well, except joy…

And was it? No!

It couldn’t be…

Someone tell me I’m dreaming…

This feeling…was it? LOVE?

Cupid’s arrow!!!!

Had finally hit me!!!

The very day…I saw you

The first time… I looked into your eyes

The sweet, angelic sound of your beautiful voice…

The kindness of your heart…like gold

This feeling…like I should never go a day without you…

You’ve captured my heart…

I don’t know how…but you did

I tried to avoid it…tried to flush down my feelings

But…they’re greater than me…

I can’t help the way I feel…

For that arrow…that should bring me pain

Has brought me joy…and peace

I bless the day I met you…

For I had long become a pagan

Vowing never to love again…no, never!

Until the day Cupid shot me

The day you became a part of me…

There’s only one thing left to say…

I LOVE YOU…

Hope you enjoyed this piece…No matter how hard, let go of past hurts…Because it may be almost impossible to find…But true love…will find you!

22 thoughts on “LET’S GO HUNTING!

  1. Adot u have turned in to a love poet abi wetin I wan call this wan! I’ve developed headache reading this piece, it is nice though keep it up! BUT I HATE READING!!!

  2. A seamless delivery of love masterly masked around fear, hate,courage and death. The suspense kept M̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ longing for the morale of the story but the thrilling climax and event filled end didn’t surprise M̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣̣̥. The master was at it again. This is a good piece. Made my morning.

  3. That’s an amazing piece, the beginning looked like there was going to be some physical hunting conquest, little did I know its emotional expression of how love found you. L̳̿Ö̤̣̇☺ː̗̀(=)))ː̖́☺Ö̤̣̇L̳̿ nice one Davyeed!!!!

  4. That was a nice piece up there. I somuch enjoyed it. Infact I could not stop buh continually smile and feel I was with d one for me. I pray ma own Cupid will come ma way soon. Lol.

  5. Nice angle Adot! Wasn’t expecting it to be a love piece! I had the hunger games playing in my mind untill cupid showed up. Once again, nice one!

  6. Awww! Interesting piece. I love love love…
    The suspense was intense, you def got my heart beating really fast. ℓσℓ

    Nice one.

  7. This is a seamless display of suspense well delivered. I didn’t see love at the end of all the fear, hate,courage and death. And the the morale of it livens my attestation to the mastery I’ve always known you posses. You made my morning.

Leave a Reply

