THE FALL

Not again!!!

How did I get here?

Is this me…here? Again?

My life is falling to pieces…Right before my very eyes…

And I’ve tried…to break the fall, but it only keeps falling harder…

You know that Chinese proverb? Hell it could be an Igbo proverb for all I care…

It says something like “It takes a second to turn your life around”

Mine didn’t need a second, it needed a split second!

Just one sniff! Was all it took

I was a celebrity…

Well, I’m still a celebrity…

Well…back to the ‘WAS’

Forgive my English…I’ve never been much of a writer…except well, when it comes to writing songs

I was a great song writer, an amazing singer…

Three albums…all had gone platinum

Tours all over Africa, Europe, and Asia…Even the Arabs loved my music!

And trust me, when the Arabs love your music, that’s as successful as it gets…

Nine million followers on twitter, over six million likes on my Facebook page

And what was this new one my agent had just joined me on? Instagram yeah? Or something like that…

I had lost count of the houses I owned…in virtually every country worth owning a house in…

I had long ago become bored with cars…I now played with private jets

And was about to purchase my second yatch…

I was no longer watching the red carpet on E! Like the rest of you poor folks

I was now interviewed by E! on the Red Carpet

I went from being a gossip, to being the one papers gossip about…

I didn’t buy designer dresses anymore…no! The designers flew in to take my measurements and show me new designs from their upcoming collection to choose from…

You see? If I wore your dress or jewellery…you were an instant hit!

Why? Because anything worn by an instant hit…in this case that would be me, became an instant hit!

Until I took one hit! (Forgive the rhymes…I’m playful like that!)

The details are foggy…

I recall a little though…a party, an after party…after a show

I was drunk, reeked of vodka, cigarettes and ‘Kush’

I was such an alcoholic, that if you cut me open, I’d bleed tequila or something…

I smoked more weed and anything that resembled grass…that I could easily have made it into the Marley’s family portrait!

You see? It’s funny how…things you once thought were grievous sins…can become a lifestyle…

One minute I’m on stage…with fifty thousand fans, or more like worshippers… screaming at the top of their lungs…

That adrenaline rush!

And the next minute, I’m in my hotel room…

Alone…lonely…depressed!

I’ve tried to find love…what did I get in return? Three ex-husbands and no kids!

And no friends…at least not without benefits!

All I have for a friend…is my white powder…

But even she takes me into cloud nine…high up into orbit!

And then brings me crashing down…she deserts me!!!!!!!!

Leaves me worse than she met me…

So…here I am…in my new home

The Rehab Centre…for drug and alcohol addicts

This should be my fifth, maybe sixth visit…damn I’m losing count!

Where are my fans? My worshippers…the ones who have my names tattooed on their bodies…

The ones who have my pictures on their walls…

They’re all gone!

My record label…has refused to renew my contract

Me? A celebrity…or was?

Reduced to this?

As I look outside the window…

I see a man and his wife with a little girl…pushing a pram with a baby in it

They are laughing so excitedly…love radiating all over

At that point I realise…

That truly, the best things in life aren’t the things we possess or acquire…

The things that truly make us happy, can’t be bought with money

They are gifts given…FREELY

 

 

P:S Be careful how you live…At the end, NOTHING you own or possess will count…The only thing that will matter is the number of lives you touched…

Wish you a WONDERFUL life ahead…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “THE FALL

Leave a Reply

